The Power of Forward Thinking

Board of Directors

Heartland is governed by a ten-member board of directors, each elected to represent a designated subdivision within Heartland's service territory. Directors are elected in the general election for terms of six years.

Heartland's original nine subdivisions were established in 1969 and include virtually all rural areas of the 36 counties in eastern South Dakota. Subdivision 10 is made up of the cities of Groton, Madison and Volga, South Dakota. These cities later elected to be annexed into the district.


Our board functions in the best interest of our customers and emphasizes reliable and economical generation and delivery systems. Heartland's board has the ultimate decision making authority for rates and power supply. Board meetings take place at Heartland's headquarters on the second Tuesday of each month and are open to the public.




Merlin VanWalleghen

Subdivision 7
Aurora, Brule, Charles Mix,
Davison, Miner & Sanborn Counties

Mark Joffer

Vice President
Subdivision 1
Bon Homme, Douglas, Hanson,
Hutchinson, McCook & Turner Counties

Kay Anderson

Subdivision 4
Lincoln County and Split Rock Township of Minnehaha County

Dave Westbrock

Subdivision 10
The municipalities of Groton, Madison and Volga, SD.

Roger Fritz

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer
Subdivision 9
Brookings, Codington, Deuel & Hamlin Counties

Jerad Higman

Subdivision 2
Clay, Union & Yankton Counties


Larry Nielson

Subdivision 3
Brown, Buffalo, Hand, Hyde,
Jerauld & Spink Counties

Dave Hahler

Subdivision 5
Day, Grant, Marshall & Roberts

Jeff Heinemeyer

Subdivision 6
Beadle, Clark, Kingsbury, Lake & Moody Counties

Lisa Rave

Subdivision 8
Minnehaha County, excluding Split Rock Township thereof